top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaryam/Merm

Illustration Lecture and animation

Notes from a lecture on the 15th January 2020


Andrew Hooper is an illustrator at the University of Chester creating his own illustrated book called "Bumpy Island". During this lecture, he spoke of his professional work through time to the current day. He spoke of the physical and mental processes, showing where his project was going.


The narrative of his book consists of characters who live on an island that communicate without words, to work together to overcome their differences and change their way of life on the island. Hooper's work is incredibly similar to mine in that we are both illustrators who choose to communicate with the viewers without words in our work.


 

After the lecture, I emailed Andrew Hooper asking for help with animating my character. He suggested I try Disney's half-filled flour sack exercise. I think it worked well in some parts and definitely needs room for improvement.



Image right: Disney's Flour sack exercise google searched.

Image left: my version of this exercise with my character Larry.

From the lighthouse illustrations, I wanted to move onto a character that isn't bound to a single spot. With the Cat as the main character, I could get more references, both for emotion and anatomy.


The next step is to make another character for the Cat to interact with, to create a simple narrative.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page